About the EHS


All Members of the society are invited to an annual residential summer conference, held in a different location each year, and to a one-day winter conference in London. A theme is chosen for the conferences each year by the President, who is elected annually. Conferences include the presentation of major papers by invited speakers who are international experts in their field, and of shorter communications related to the theme, which may be offered by individuals. Excursions are also arranged to local venues of historical interest, and there is time for participants to interact over meals and in the bar with others working in their areas of research. Selected proceedings of the conferences are published each year in Studies in Church History.

We are keen to see increased postgraduate participation in the society, and convene a postgraduate colloquium each year. A number of speakers there go on to offer papers at the summer conference and to have those accepted for publication in Studies in Church History. Since 2005, we have also awarded the Michael J. Kennedy postgraduate prize, for the best communication at the Summer Conference.


To read the full EHS constitution, click here. It includes certain revisions which were adopted at the AGM in July 2012.


For membership info and application forms, visit the Membership section.


To see the current EHS Officers and committee members, visit the Committee section.

Past Presidents and themes

For details of past Presidents and themes, click here.


Since 2000, the following distinguished scholars have been recognized as Fellows of the Ecclesiastical History Society under item 5 of the constitution. Previously such individuals were accorded honorary membership.

David Bebbington
Brenda Bolton
C.N.L. Brooke
Averil Cameron
James Cameron
Henry Chadwick
Owen Chadwick
Patrick Collinson
Giles Constable
Claire Cross
A.G. Dickens
Eamon Duffy
W.H.C. Frend
Robert Markus
Colin Morris
Janet L. Nelson
G.F. Nuttall
W.R. Ward 

International Links

The EHS serves as the host body for the British sub-commission of the Commission internationale d'histoire et d'├ętudes du christianisme (CIHEC), a UNESCO-linked body which serves as the main co-ordinating structure for ecclesiastical historians worldwide.  

Something a little different ...

To mark the fiftieth anniversary of the society's foundation, we are pleased to place online a murder-mystery by Timothy Larsen, Bloomsbury Blood. You may consider that his 'Church Archaeological Society' bears an uncanny resemblance to the EHS, but we couldn't possibly comment ...

The novel comes in two files rather than the classic Victorian three parts. To read it, click on the links below.

Bloomsbury Blood 1

Bloomsbury Blood 2

bloomsbury_blood_1.doc139 KB
bloomsbury_blood_2.doc162.5 KB
past_presidents.pdf439.92 KB
kennedy_prizewinners.doc31 KB