History seminars at the IHR

Modern Italian History

Convenors: Christopher Duggan (Reading), Ilaria Favretto (Kingston), Maurizio Isabella (QMUL), Axel Körner (UCL), Carl Levy (Goldsmiths)

All meetings will take place on Wednesdays at 5:30, Institute of Historical Research, Senate House (Malet St, London, WC1E 7HU), unless otherwise stated (for room details, see the list of events below).

For enquiries relating to this seminar please contact Ilaria Favretto: I.Favretto@kingston.ac.uk

Venue:  Past & Present Room N202, 2nd floor, IHR, North block, Senate House unless otherwise stated

Time: Wednesday, 5.30pm

The IHR Modern Italian History Seminar is deeply saddened by the sudden death of its co-convener Professor Christopher Duggan. Christopher was a great friend and supporter of the seminar, involved in many of our events over the past 25 years. His intellectual contribution to the field of Modern Italian History is immense. Many young colleagues as well as established scholars benefitted from his generous advice and friendship.

Autumn Term 2015
DateSeminar details
28 October Book presentation and discussion of: The Massacre of Debre Libanos Ethiopia 1937. The Story of One of Fascism's Most Shocking Atrocities (Addis Ababa University Press, 2014)

Ian Campbell (Independent scholar and World Bank consultant)

Discussant: Christopher Duggan
Chair: Ilaria Favretto

25 November Italian Fascism's Empire Cinema (Indiana University Press, 2015)

Book launch and discussion of: Ruth Ben-Ghiat (New York University)

Discussants: Christopher Duggan (Reading) and Bob Lumley (UCL Centre for Italian Studies)
Chair: Axel Körner and Beatrice Sica
Venue: University College London, Rockefeller Building, room B14, 21, University Street, London WC1E 6DE


Please note: this session has been cancelled

9 December Italiani non regnicoli and emigrants of Italy during the liberal period: Discussing citizenship, migration and italianità in historical perspective

Sabina Donati (Graduate Institute of International Studies and Université de Genève)

Chair: Carl Levy