Essex House, Mile End Road, c1890, where C. R. Ashbee founded the Committee for the Survey of the Memorials of Greater London ©English Heritage
The Survey of London was founded in 1894 by C. R. Ashbee, and aimed to discover, record, and by doing so help save, the historic monuments of Greater London. Today, it is as much a work of ongoing urban history as an inventory of individual monuments, and equally concerned with buildings and developments of all periods, including the most recent. Originally organised and carried out entirely by volunteers, the Survey of London was for many years run by the London County Council (LCC) and its successor the Greater London Council (GLC). With the GLC's abolition it became the responsibility of the Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of England (RCHME), which in 1999 was merged with English Heritage.