The Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History

The Fraenkel Prize, sponsored by Mr. Ernst Fraenkel OBE, joint President of the Library and former Chairman, will be awarded for an outstanding work of twentieth-century history in one of The Wiener Library’s fields of interest, i.e. the history of Europe; Jewish history; the two world wars; antisemitism; comparative genocide and political extremism.

Two distinct awards will be made:

Category A

  • For a completed, but unpublished book;
  • $6,000 prize money.

Category B

  • For a completed, revised or unrevised but unpublished PhD thesis or equivalent. Please note that MA theses will not be admissible;
  • $4,000 prize money.


  • The work must be written in English, French or German;
  • English translations of books previously published in another language will not be eligible;
  • Book manuscripts submitted in previous years may not be resubmitted in any following year;
  • The panel reserves the right not to consider any work that falls outside the specified subject areas or fails to meet entry requirements.

Entry Requirements

  • Two, non-returnable, copies of the entry – one in manuscript printed double sided and bound, and one in electronic format (CD-ROM or file attachment as a PDF or MS Word document);
  • A short curriculum vitae both in hard copy and as an electronic file;
  • Please clearly state which Category the manuscript is to be entered for.

If you have any questions regarding your submission, please email

How to Apply for the Award

To enter the 2014 Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History, please refer to the entry requirements and send to:


The Wiener Library for the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide

29 Russell Square

London WC1B 5DP

Or by email to  

Deadline for Entry

All entries must reach our office by 5.30pm on Wednesday, 30 April 2014.

Published on: 
21 Jan 2014