History syllabus University of London

University of London History syllabus

School of History

Colleges, Schools & Institutes

back to the top


Birkbeck College [BkC]

Malet Street, WC1E 7HX
Tel: 020-7631 6268
Fax: 020-7631 6552

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 11 Dec
4 Jan - 19 Mar
19 Apr - 2 Jul

Head of School: Professor Catherine Edwards - c.edwards@bbk.ac.uk
Office Administrator: Jessica Dunne - j.dunne@bbk.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Nikolaus Wachsmann - n.wachsmann@bbk.ac.uk
Tutor for Research Students: Professor M. Hunter - m.hunter@bbk.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Courtauld Institute of Art

Somerset House, Strand, London WC2R 0RN
Tel: 020-7872 0220
Fax: 020-7848 2410
Academic Registry: 020 7848 2645/2635
Website: http://www.courtauld.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 9 Dec
4 Jan - 17 Mar
19 Apr - 30 Jun

Director: Dr Deborah Swallow
Academic Registrar: Dr Gareth Morgan
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Georgia Clarke

List of Colleges | back to the top


Goldsmiths College [GC]

Lewisham Way, New Cross, London SE14 6NW
Tel: 020-7919 7490
Fax: 020-7919 7398
Website: http://www.goldsmiths.ac.uk/departments/history

Terms 2009 - 2010

21 Sep -11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
267 Apr - 18 Jun

Head of Department: Dr Helen Jones - h.jones@gold.ac.uk
Departmental Administrator: Nevenka Martin - n.martin@gold.ac.uk
Departmental Secretary (administers Group 2, 3 and MA courses): Mrs Carol Granger - c.granger@gold.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. History Board of Examiners: Professor Damien Keown - d.keown@gold.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of Classical Studies

Senate House, Malet Street, WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020-7862 8700
Fax: 020-7862 8722
Website: http://www.sas.ac.uk/icls

Director: Professor Michael Edwards - mike.edwards@sas.ac.uk
Administrator: Dr Olga Krzyszkowska - admin.icls@sas.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of Commonwealth Studies [ICwS]

28 Russell Square, London WC1B 5DS
Tel: 020-7862 8844
Fax: 020-7862 8820
Email: ics@sas.ac.uk
Website: http://www.sas.ac.uk/commonwealthstudies/index.htm

Terms 2009-2010

28 Sep -11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 18 Jun

Director: Professor Philip Murphy -  philip.murphy@sas.ac.uk
Administrative Manager: Alison Stewart - Alison.Stewart@sas.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of Education [Inst. Ed.]

20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL
Tel: 020-7612 6750
Fax: 020-7612 6555
Website: http://ioewebserver.ioe.ac.uk/ioe

Terms 2009 - 2010

6 Oct - 18 Dec
11 Jan - 19 Mar
26 Apr - 2 Jul

Director: Professor Geoff Whitty
Course Leader, MA History of Education: Dr Jane Martin

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of English Studies

Room 304, Senate House, Malet Street, WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020-7862 8675
Fax: 020-7862 8720
Website: http://www.sas.ac.uk/ies

Terms 2009 - 2010

5 Oct - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 18 Jun

Director: Professor Warwick Gould - warwick.gould@sas.ac.uk
For general Institute enquiries, contact Christine Lees- ies@sas.ac.uk
For enquiries regarding postgraduate study, contact Francesca Bettocchi - fbettocchi@sas.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of Germanic and Romance Studies

Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020-7862 8677
Fax: 020-7862 8672
Email: igrs@sas.ac.uk
Website: http://igrs.sas.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 18 Jun

Director: Professor Naomi Segal
Administrator: Flo Austin

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute of Historical Research [IHR]

Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020-7862 8740
Fax: 020-7862 8745
Email: ihr@sas.ac.uk
Website: http://www.history.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 18 Jun

Director: Professor Miles Taylor
Institute Administrator: Alex Bussey - elaine.walters@sas.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Institute for the Study of the Americas [ISA]

Senate House, Malet Street, WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020-7862 8870
Fax: 020-7862 8886
Email: americas@sas.ac.uk
Website: http://americas.sas.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 25 Jun

Director: Professor Maxine Molyneux
Administrative Manager: Ms Karen Perkins - karen.perkins@sas.ac.uk
For further information, contact the Postgraduate Administrator: Ms Kalinda Hughes - kalinda.hughes@sas.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


King's College London [KCL]

Strand, London WC2R 2LS
Tel: 020-7848 1078
Fax: 020-7848 2052
Email: history@kcl.ac.uk
Website: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/schools/humanities/depts/history

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 18 Dec
11 Jan- 1 Apr
26 Apr - 4 Jun

Head of Department: Dr Paul Readman - paul.readman@kcl.ac.uk
Departmental Manager, History: Ms Laura Clayton - laura.clayton@kcl.ac.uk
Chair, History B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr M. Rowe - michael.rowe@kcl.ac.uk
Departmental Administrator, Classics: Mr Michael Broderick - michael.broderick@kcl.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


London School of Economics [LSE]

Houghton Street, Aldwych, London WC2A 2AE
Website: http://www.lse.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

1 Oct - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 19 Mar
26 Apr - 2 July

Department of International History

Tel: 020-7955 7548
Fax: 020-7955 6800

Head of Department: Dr A. Best
Departmental Manager: Mrs D. Frini - d.frini@lse.ac.uk
Chair, Board of Examiners for Undergraduate Degrees: Dr J. Lewis
Departmental Tutor: Dr J.P. RubiƩs
Tutor for Masters Students: Dr N.P. Ludlow
Research Students Tutor: Dr K.E. Schulze

Department of Economic History

Tel: 020-7405 7686
Fax: 020-7955 7730

Acting Head of Department: Professor Janet Hunter
Departmental Manager: Mrs L. Sampson
Departmental Tutor: Dr Patrick Wallis
Research Students Tutor: Professor Janet Hunter
Tutor for Graduates: Dr Edward Hunt
Chair, Board of Examiners for Undergraduate Degrees: Dr Tim Leunig

List of Colleges | back to the top


London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine [LSHTM]

Keppel Street, London WC1E 7HT
Tel: 020-7927 2269/2434
Fax: 020-7637 3238
Website: www.lshtm.ac.uk/history

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep -18 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
19 Apr - 17 Sep

Centre for History in Public Health

Head of Group: Professor Virginia Berridge - virginia.berridge@lshtm.ac.uk
Secretary: Ms Ingrid James - ingrid.james@lshtm.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Menzies Centre for Australian Studies (KCL)

4th Floor, Australia Centre, Cnr Strand & Melbourne Place, London WC2R 4LG
Tel: 020-7240 0220
Fax: 020-7240 8292
Website: www.kcl.ac.uk/schools/humanities/menzies/index.html

Head of Centre: Professor Carl Bridge - carl.bridge@kcl.ac.uk
Centre Secretary: Ms Kirsten McIntyre - kirsten.mcintyre@kcl.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Queen Mary University of London [QMUL]

Mile End Road, London E1 4NS
Tel: 020-7882 5016
Fax: 020-8980 8400
Website: http://www.history.qmul.ac.uk

Terms 2009 - 2010

23 Sep - 18 Dec
11 Jan - 1 Apr
4 May - 11 Jun

Head of Department: Dr. Virginia Davis - v.g.davis@qmul.ac.uk
Departmental Administrator: Ms Claire Hackett - c.l.hackett@qmul.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Mark Glancy - h.m.glancy@qmul.ac.uk
Departmental Tutor: Dr Michael Questier - m.c.questier@qmul.ac.uk
Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. Georgios Varouxakis - g.varouxakis@qmul.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Royal Holloway [RH]

Egham Hill, Egham, Surrey, London TW20 0EX
Tel: 01784-443 639
Fax: 01784-433 032
Website: http://www.rhul.ac.uk/history

Terms 2009 - 2010

21 Sep - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 11 Jun

Head of Department: Professor Justin Champion - j.champion@rhul.ac.uk
Senior Faculty Administrator: Penelope Mullens - penelope.mullens@rhul.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Sarah Ansari - s.ansari@rhul.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr Zoe Laidlaw - zoe.laidlaw@rhul.ac.uk
Director of Postgraduate Studies: Dr Dan Stone - dan.stone@rhul.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


School of Oriental and African Studies [SOAS]

Thornhaugh Street, Russell Square, London WC1H 0XG
Tel: 020-7898 4011
Fax: 020-7898 4699
Dept. Contact: Martin Hodkinson - mh74@soas.ac.uk - Tel: 020-7898 4038
Website: http://www.soas.ac.uk/History/

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 18 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 18 Jun

Head of Department: Dr Benjamin Fortna - bf7@soas.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Michael Charney
Undergraduate Tutor: Dr Heidi Walcher
Tutor for Masters Students: Dr Avril Powell
Research Students' Tutor: Dr Daud Ali

List of Colleges | back to the top


School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London [SSEES, UCL]

16 Taviton Street, London, WC1H 0BW
Tel: (Switchboard) 020-7679 8700
(History) 020-7679 8774
Fax: 020-7679 8777
Website: http://www.ssees.ac.uk

Programme Administrator – BA History and MA History: Mr Michael Kelly - michael.kelly@ucl.ac.uk
Programme Coordinator – BA History and MA History: Professor Richard Butterwick-Pawlikowski – r.butterwick@ucl.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


University College London [UCL]

Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT
Tel: 020-7679 1340
Fax: 020-7413 8394
Website: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/history

Terms 2009 - 2010

28 Sep - 11 Dec
11 Jan - 26 Mar
26 Apr - 11 Jun

Head of Department: Professor Stephen Conway - s.conway@ucl.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator and Examinations Liaison Officer: Ms Marlene Cox marlene.cox@ucl.ac.uk
Postgraduate Administrator: Ms Joanna Fryer j.fryer@ucl.ac.uk
Chair, B.A. Board of Examiners: Dr Antonio Sennis - a.sennis@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Tutor: Dr Benet Salway – R.salway@ucl.ac.uk
Tutor for Research Students: Prof Ben Kaplan – b.kaplan@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Administrators, Greek & Latin: classicsoffice@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Administrator, Institute of Archaeology: Miss Judy Medrington - j.medrington@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Administrators, Hebrew & Jewish Studies - jewish.studies@ucl.ac.uk

List of Colleges | back to the top


Warburg Institute [Warburg]

Woburn Square, London WC1H 0AB
Tel: 020-7862 8949
Fax: 020-7862 8955
Email: warburg@sas.ac.uk
Website: http://www.sas.ac.uk/warburg/

Terms 2009 - 2010

26 Sep - 4 Dec
11 Jan - 19 Mar
26 Apr - 2 Jul

Director: Professor Peter Mack
Institute Manager: Catherine Charlton

back to the top


Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine [WCHM]

210 Euston Road, London NW1 2BE
Tel: 020-7679 8100
Fax: 020-7679 8194
Website: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/histmed

Head of the Centre: Professor H. J. Cook
Centre Administrator: Alan Shiel - a.shiel@ucl.ac.uk

back to the top