Our Honorary Fellows

Honorary Fellowships recognise outstanding achievement in the promotion of history, scholarship, research and/or academic leadership over a considerable period of time.

Honorary Fellowships can also be awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution as staff members to the Institute of Historical Research.

Professor David Bates
Medieval history; Anglo-Norman studies

Professor John Beckett
English Regional History

Professor Sir David Cannadine
Modern British history, Consultant, History of Education

Professor Michael Clanchy
Medieval education, law and archives

Heather Creaton
Metropolitan history

Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Social history of Britain and Europe in the modern period

Dr Eveline Cruickshanks
Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century political history

Professor Martin Daunton
Taxation and politics in Britain since 1842

Professor Sir Roderick Floud
Economic history

Professor Diana Greenway
Medieval history and palaeography

Dr Clyve Jones
Parliamentary history

Professor Linda Levy Peck
Stuart England

Mark Lewisohn

Robert Lyons

Dr Keith Manley

Professor Peter Marshall
The British Empire in the eighteenth century

Donald Munro

Professor Dame Janet Nelson
Early medieval political and social history

Professor Patrick O'Brien
Economic history

Dr Alice Prochaska
Archives and manuscript collections

Dr Frank Prochaska
Modern British history

Sir John Sainty
Office holders

Professor Barry Supple
Economic history

Professor Sir Richard Trainor
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century British social elites

Dr Graham Twigg
Epidemics in London, 1540-1625