The Victoria County History of Cumberland

Two volumes, I (1901) and II (1905) were published in the early years of the 20th century. 

The first VCH publication for the historic county of Cumberland to be published since 1905 is our VCH Short, Kirkoswald and Renwick, published in 2019.

Part of volume II, detailing the medieval religious houses in the county, is available free, open-access on British History Online

VCH Cumbria

The Cumbria County History Trust has been established as a registered charity to raise funds and volunteer resources for the work, and to provide the community focus for the project. 

No town or village histories had been published for the historic counties of Cumberland and Westmorland before the VCH Cumbria project was launched in 2010; the only parts of Cumbria previously to have been researched in detail by the VCH were the Furness and Cartmel areas, which were formerly in Lancashire and are covered in VCH LancashireVolume VIII (1910).  The VCH Cumbria project is using the Civil Parishes as they existed around 1900 as the basis for dividing the counties of Cumberland and Westmorland into units for the preparation of articles. 

Read draft histories of all Cumbrian townships.

Follow VCH Cumbria on Twitter

View on Twitter