The Victoria County History of Leicestershire

Volume I of the Leicestershire series was published in 1907. Under the influence of W.G. Hoskins the project was revived after the Second World War with four volumes produced between 1954 and 1964.

Work was revived through a four-year project, supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund, called Charnwood Roots (2013-17) which researched the histories of 35 towns, villages and hamlets in the Charnwood area of Leicestershire (not all within Charnwood District Council area).

Two VCH Shorts Castle Donington and Buckminster and Sewstern were published in 2017. The latest publication is the VCH Short for Ibstock, published in 2020. Drafts are available for other parishes in Leicestershire. The next VCH Short for the county will be on the town of Lutterworth.

The Leicestershire VCH Trust are now raising funds to write up this research as traditional VCH 'Big Red Books', each of which will include several neighbouring parishes. The project will start with a volume on the town of Loughborough and its neighbouring parishes.

Part of Volume II and all of Volumes IV and V are on British History Online. For full access to all volumes, check your local library catalogue or your local archive. 

VCH Leicestershire Newsletter

September 2020 PDF 1.49 MB
November 2019 PDF 1.88 MB

Leicestershire Histories in Progress

Follow VCH Leicestershire on social media

VCH Leicestershire on Twitter

View on Twitter