The Victoria County History of Oxfordshire

Though two general volumes were published in 1907 and 1939, detailed work on individual parishes and towns began only in the 1950s-60s, with the most recent volume published in February 2022. Twenty volumes have now been published out of 23 planned, covering over three quarters of the pre-1974 county. 

A small team based in Oxford is working to complete the remainder, supported by the VCH Oxfordshire Trust and Oxfordshire County Council. A volume on the Chipping Norton area is well advanced, and work on the Chadlington area is under way, which will leave just one more volume (on the Burford area) needed to complete the Oxfordshire series. Subject to continued funding we hope to achieve that by the end of the decade.

Eighteen volumes are available on British History Online, although the two general volumes only in part. For full access to all volumes, check your local library catalogue or your local archive.

Please note that places in the Vale of White Horse (absorbed into Oxfordshire in 1974) were covered in the Berkshire VCH series, published in 1906–27. Our current projects all fall within the ancient (pre-1974) county of Oxfordshire.

County Coverage

VCH Oxfordshire: Parish A-Z by volume PDF 195.07 KB
VCH Oxfordshire: Coverage by volume (Map) PDF 428.13 KB

VCH Oxfordshire Events

VCH Oxfordshire Talks and Events, 2024 PDF 79.17 KB

VCH Oxfordshire Trust Newsletters

2023 (Summer) Newsletter PDF 373.47 KB
2022 (Summer) Newsletter PDF 387.98 KB
2021 Newsletter PDF 407.43 KB
2020 Newsletter PDF 1.16 MB
2019 Newsletter PDF 1.18 MB
2018 Newsletter PDF 715.28 KB
2017 Newsletter PDF 1.82 MB

Follow VCH Oxfordshire on Twitter

View on Twitter