Work in progress

This volume (on which work began in autumn 2015) is now complete and will be published early in 2022. It covers twelve South Chiltern parishes including Goring, Mapledurham, and Caversham (now a densely settled suburb of Reading), and completes VCH Oxfordshire's work on the Chiltern area.

An overview of the area (which will form the volume introduction) is available below as a PDF. Individual parishes covered are: 

  • Caversham 
  • Checkendon
  • Crowmarsh Gifford 
  • Eye and Dunsden (part of Sonning parish, Berks.) 
  • Goring 
  • Ipsden
  • Mapledurham 
  • Mongewell 
  • Newnham Murren 
  • North Stoke
  • Shiplake 
  • Whitchurch

Publication of this volume will leave just three more needed to complete the Oxfordshire series, focused respectively on Chipping Norton (in progress), Chadlington, and Burford.




The South Oxfordshire Chilterns - An Overview PDF 1.71 MB


VCH Oxfordshire vol. 20 - Map PDF 117.18 KB