About the IHR Trust

The IHR Trust is an independent charity governed by a Board of Trustees (Registered Charity Number 1077592).  The objective of the IHR Trust is to promote the public understanding and appreciation of history.  It does this, in particular, through its support of the whole programme of the Institute of Historical Research.  The activities of the Trust are supported by donations from third parties and through careful stewardship of existing assets.



  • Professor Caroline Barron
  • Mr Taylor Downing
  • Dr Elisabeth Kehoe
  • Mr Christopher Kenyon CBE
  • Dr Jill Pellew
  • Dr Alice Prochaska (Chair)
  • Mr John Shakeshaft
  • Ms Elaine Walters

Ex-Officio Trustees

  • Professor Jo Fox (Director of the IHR)
  • Professor Rick Rylance (Dean of the School of Advanced Study)
  • Professor Alexandra Walsham (Chair of the IHR Advisory Council)